Tuesday, 21 May 2013

AUTHOR INTERVIEW EXCLUSIVE & GIVEAWAY: Win a copy of Dark Child (Omnibus edition) by Adina West

Title: Dark Child
Series: Omnibus Edition
Author: Adina West
Publisher: Momentum
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Release Date: 1st June 2013

Blurb
Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, this intriguing urban fantasy follows the story of Kat Chanter, who discovers that the world she knows is controlled by ancient creatures who feed on blood. And she might just be one of them ...

Lately things have been getting weird for pathology technician Kat Chanter. She's been craving raw meat, and having dreams so realistic they're scary. When she accepts a job offer from the prestigious Hema Castus Research Institute, she hopes she'll have the chance to discover what's wrong with her, but instead, her move to New York thrusts her headlong into a treacherous hidden world, where the wrong move could be fatal . . .

Tarot, witchcraft and astrology all take on a frightening resonance in Dark Child's richly imagined alternative reality where vampiric beings live among us, hidden by magic. Dark romance tangles with paranormal fantasy and page-turning suspense in this enthralling tale of 'dark child' Kat Chanter, half-human and half-vampire, who has woken an ancient prophecy and must face a formidable destiny.

Dark Child was originally released in serial form.
Read on to enter the givaway...

About The Author

Adina West grew up surrounded by trees, on a remote property on Australia's east coast, in country New South Wales. She spent most of her childhood curled up with a book, and her first teenage job was shelving books at the local library, where she was cautioned more than once for reading them instead of putting them away.

Now, Adina lives in Sydney's leafy north-west with her IT guru husband, two children, and a couple of unwelcome possums who really don't know how to take a hint.


Interview With Adina


1. What made you decide to become a writer?

I've wanted to be a writer for a very long time – since primary school at least! When I was little I started out writing picture books, and in my teens I graduated to writing (bad) romance novels. It was something I always saw as a hobby though, and I'm so glad I finally saw the light and decided to seriously pursue it as a career. I feel privileged to be able to work at something that I really, truly enjoy.

2. What inspired you to write Dark Child?

My real inspiration was my own love of the paranormal, in fiction and film/tv. I've watched pretty much every vampire movie and TV series out there, as well as reading plenty of paranormal fiction. But until the Twilight phenomenon, I didn't realise how big the market for this genre is. I don't think anyone was prepared for how huge Twilight would be.

At the time I started writing Dark Child I was just making the mental adjustment from writing as a hobby to writing with a view to publication, and it seemed logical to try something in a genre I loved reading myself, especially as readers seemed keen for more paranormal fiction. So it started off as a sensible, commercial decision, but that went out the window after about two seconds! The story, the world, just fired up my imagination and I ended up with a romance-filled, suspenseful paranormal fantasy that had all the elements I love mixed together. It could have been really messy…but luckily it somehow worked. :-) I talk in more detail about my inspiration for Dark Child in this blog post: darksidedownunder

3. What was your most favourite part of the story to write about?

I really loved writing the interactions between Kat and Alek, I have to say. I like writing dialogue, and romance, especially when it's not going so smoothly, is so much fun. So any bits where Alek was making a move and it wasn't going so well I enjoyed writing. Mean, aren't I?

4. Is there any part of Kat or any of your other characters that you based on yourself or someone you know?

I honestly don't base my characters closely on people I know. Where would be the fun in that? The scenarios in Dark Child are so much larger than life that the characters have to be, too.

But there are elements I've pulled from reality, and Kat in particular does have parts of me hidden away in there. Her attitudes to things sometimes, and little snippets like the fact that she can't get to sleep when her feet are cold are straight from my real life!

I have to also confess that Della is just a little bit like my sister, and was inspired by her. Both are fabulous cooks, and nurture those they love with food.

5. Now that you've written the final instalment of Dark Child, whats next? Do you have anything you can share with us about future projects?

Dark Child was always intended to continue in a series – I never wanted it to be a stand-alone book. So I'm already working on the sequel, which will begin just after the end point in Dark Child.

In terms of other stuff – I have some projects on the back-burner that I'd love to finish as soon as I get time! They're not paranormal fantasy, but usually have a common thread of all the other stuff I love; hidden secrets, intense emotional relationships and romance. Stay tuned!

6. What is your greatest achievement in life so far?

In my personal life, there are two, both equally great, achievements I have to place at the top of the list! My two beautiful kids. Being a mum involves so much sacrifice but it's so worth it. :-)

And professionally…I'd have to say my greatest achievement has been taking that great leap into the unknown, and really following my dream to be a writer. Believing in myself, and finishing the novel, and not letting self-doubt stop me.

7. Who is your favourite Author?

That's a really really hard one, because I have favourite authors in different genres! But there's one who really stands out, because she's the only author who has ever inspired me to scour second hand shops to get every single title she's written. And that's historical romance author, Georgette Heyer. I have my favourites from among her books but haven't read one I didn't like. Other authors…sometimes I'll love one thing by them but not another. Or I love their writing overall, but there's one element I'm not keen on! I'm fussy that way. :-) I have a pretty long list of stuff I've read up on Goodreads though, so that's probably the best way to answer this question. Come and say hi on Goodreads!

8. Please tell us in one sentence why you think we will love Dark Child.

You're so mean. Really? I have to do this in one sentence? Okay…

You'll love Dark Child because it will speak to your hidden heart, and draw you into a world of tarot, and danger, and seductive promise that you won't want to leave behind even after you read the final word.

I hope.



Giveaway

We are offering our readers the chance to win one of 3 ebook copies of the new Omnibus edition of Dark Child by Adina West, which is due to be released on 1st June, courtesy of Momentum Books. All you have to do is follow the steps in the Rafflecopter below and sit and wait to see if you're one of the lucky winners who will be picked after the 6th June.

UPDATE: Closing date for this giveaway has been extended and will now close on the 6th June.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Would you like to host this giveaway by My Little World? Use the banner below (include a link back to this post):



And get the rafflecopter code HERE

Let me know if you've taken part in the comments below...

Read my review of Dark Child HERE

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Would love to hear what you think in the comments below. And don't forget if your a blogger to include your links so I can visit.

 

My Little World Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template