Saturday, 1 June 2013

RELEASE DAY REVIEW: Dark Child (The Omnibus Edition) by Adina West

Title: Dark Child
Series: The Omnibus Edition
Author: Adina West
Publisher: Momentum Books
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Release Date: 1st June 2013

Blurb
Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, this intriguing urban fantasy follows the story of Kat Chanter, who discovers that the world she knows is controlled by ancient creatures who feed on blood. And she might just be one of them ...

Lately things have been getting weird for pathology technician Kat Chanter. She's been craving raw meat, and having dreams so realistic they're scary. When she accepts a job offer from the prestigious Hema Castus Research Institute, she hopes she'll have the chance to discover what's wrong with her, but instead, her move to New York thrusts her headlong into a treacherous hidden world, where the wrong move could be fatal . . .

Tarot, witchcraft and astrology all take on a frightening resonance in Dark Child's richly imagined alternative reality where vampiric beings live among us, hidden by magic. Dark romance tangles with paranormal fantasy and page-turning suspense in this enthralling tale of 'dark child' Kat Chanter, half-human and half-vampire, who has woken an ancient prophecy and must face a formidable destiny.



Please Note: This book was given to my by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Dark Child was originally released in serial form which is what stopped me reading it from the start as I was worried that if I actually found myself enjoying it that I wouldn't want to wait to read the next installment.

I was right to be hesitant...

When I was asked by Momentum if I would be interested in reviewing Dark Child, and it being a book that had already caught my eye, I jumped at the chance and was lucky enough to be sent the full omnibus editon. Thank goodness... If I'd only been able to read it in pieces then I would have been very frustrated and wouldn't have enjoyed the reading experience anywhere near as much as I actually did.

We start off with Kat (Katerina) who, on the surface, is your average, everyday twenty something with a carreer in pathology. But after some fainting and sudden nausia prompts Kat to test her own blood without anyone knowing, and the tests produce some very strange results, she soon realises that there is something strangely wrong with her especially after she starts to crave raw meat.
“As she stood there indecisively, a smell hit her that was impossible to resist. She inhaled deeply, closing her eyes to savor it, and her body turned in the direction that faintest of breezes had come from. Her feet began to move, tracing out a path, reacting to olfactory triggers she was barely conscious of. The scent drawing her toward it at that moment seemed to be the most delicious thing she had ever smelled”

After a very odd reading from a psychic, and an interesting job offer which sees her moving to New York, Kat is soon thrust into a world that has been hidden from humans for centuries, a world full of powerful beings -- some who will stop at nothing to protect her believing she is to fill some ancient prophecy, others who want to destroy her -- where she begins to learn the truth about who and what she really is.

I particularly love the unalil who feature heavily in the second half of the book. Their race is intriguing and I'm a sucker for a powerful male with shapeshifting abilities. I enjoyed the family type bond that they had and loved learning about their history. Kat finds one of the unalil males, Amarok, strangely familiar and can't shake the feeling that she's met him before but she soon begins to form an unlikely friendship with Alek. Alek just had me swooning from the off and Amarok is certainly another favourite of mine. I can't wait to find out what happens with these two in the final installment.
“She turned slowly, unsure what she was expecting to see. Her eyes widened, and her lips parted in a gasp of surprise. Behind her, a cougar stood on its hind legs, its front paws on the bench so that it was as tall as a man. Its head was turned toward her, unblinking amber eyes level with her own.”

West's wonderful descriptive ability makes you feel as much a part of her world as the characters in it so even though the story took a while to get going, it felt like I was really getting to know Kat and made you see everything that was happening as clearly as watching a movie.

“That may have been true once, Kat, but not anymore. I’ve never hidden the way I feel about you. If you trust in nothing else, trust in that.”

I have no idea why the publisher wanted to release this book in serial form but I do know that as a full novel its a truly great read. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading about Kat and her journey of self discovery and really love the world and the strong characters Adina West has created. In my eyes, the storyline is strong enough to create a good length series around (read: I want to read a lot more about these fascinating creatures) so I really hope that we at least get a sequel and that it will be in the form of a full length novel.

Adina, I will beg if I have to!


 
Available 1st June From: amazon.co.uk | amazon.com | iBooksUK | iBooksUS
 


Release Day Giveaway

We are offering our readers the chance to win one of 3 ebook copies of the new Omnibus edition of Dark Child by Adina West, which is due to be released on 1st June, courtesy of Momentum Books. All you have to do is follow the steps in the Rafflecopter below and sit and wait to see if you're one of the lucky winners who will be picked after the 6th June.

UPDATE: Closing date for this giveaway has been extended and will now close on the 6th June.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Read our exclusive interview with the author by visiting the Giveaway page. Click picture below:



0 comments:

Post a Comment

Would love to hear what you think in the comments below. And don't forget if your a blogger to include your links so I can visit.

 

My Little World Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template