Tuesday, 20 August 2013

REVIEW: Order of The Black Swan Series by Victoria Danann

Series: Order of The Black Swan
Author: Victoria Danann
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: ARC Supplied by Author

Smart. Sexy. Magical.

A secret society, modern day knights, an accidental pilgrim from an alternate dimension, and a vampire like no other come together where chance intersects romance for a once-in-a-lifetime adventure, proving that true love can find you in the strangest places, even far, far from home.


Minutes ahead of inevitable assassination, Elora Laiken is forcibly transported to an alternate dimension similar, but not identical, to her own. She is stranded. Alone. Far from home. A stranger in a "strangish" land.

Of course a girl could suffer worse problems than having gorgeous suitors. Perhaps more importantly, in the midst of an epidemic of vampire related abductions, can she stay alive long enough to choose between an honor debt, true love, or the breathlessness of single-minded passion?


I have read this whole series one book after the other and because I went through them so quickly I wanted to review the series as a whole rather than four separate books. So here goes...

From the moment Elora Laiken, who is from another dimension, lands at the feet of Bad Company while they are in a meeting, you are drawn into a fantasy world that Danann has done a great job in creating. Her heroines are strong, her heroes are down right sexy and the world--or worlds I should say--that she has created is full of mythical creatures such as Vampires, Ex-Vampires, Werewolves, Elves, Demons, Witches and more; most of which The Order of The Black Swan have sworn to protect humans from.

At first (book 1 My Familiar Stranger) we meet the Order. A group of humans along with an Elf and a Berserker who are present-day, kick-ass Knights that have vowed to protect mankind from the creatures that threaten them from day to day. Storm, a long standing member, while spending time with Elora as she heals from horrific injuries caused by her transportation, begins to develop feeling for her. When his two colleagues Ram and Kay return from some well earned time off, Storm soon realises that he has to compete with one of his best pals for Elora's affections which makes for interesting page time.
He had misread the instinct and fucked up majorly this time. He'd left to go play for three months while Storm stuck around and spent every damn day becoming her anchor to this world. If that wasn’t bad enough, it looked like he had abandoned the scene and allowed one of his two best friends in the world to fall in love with the one female who was destined to be his. What a cluster! He was more than a moron. He was self-saboteur to a degree that any masochist would envy.
My Familiar Stranger really got me hooked on this series. The world building and character development in this first book really got me invested in the characters and their stories. Finding out that there are other dimensions, learning about the characters and the creatures that exist in their world and then a love triangle that turns into a beautiful love story are all the reasons why I couldn't put this book down. The same goes for the rest too.

Book two, A Witches Dream, continues right where the other left off. After my little disappointment at the end of book one when Elora made her choice who to be with (I was routing for the other guy!) this book made up for it. As well as introducing new characters, we see the Order face new challenges. The love story in this instalment is great. I won't mention the characters that the focus is on in this book so as not to spoil book 1 but I was really looking forward to this story. It didn't disappoint but if I was going to grumble (a little grumble) about anything it would be that I would have preferred to see the relationship between the said characters develop a little slower. It was a little rushed to me but it wasn't enough to stop me enjoying the story.

'He looked her full in the face for the first time. "What are you doing, Elora?"
"Letting you know in no uncertain terms that you're still part of my life. You're my best friend and I'm not letting you get away without a fight.”'

The next two books were as gripping as the first and follow the same pattern of man meets woman (or has already met woman), man falls in love with woman and they reach their HEA. I love the way that all of the books continue right where the others left off and that the rest of the characters are still key players throughout the whole series and don't just appear in the background.

If you're a paranormal romance fan and you love to read books like the Midnight Breed by Lara Adrian and The Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward then I can really recommend The Order of The Black Swan series. They are similar in the sense that there is a secret organisation made up of a group of modern-day Knights (Warriors) who are highly skilled and fight to protect mankind from monsters they're not aware exist, but really that's all. This series has its own style and the great mix of creatures and different worlds make it unique.

Victoria Dannan is an author I'll be keeping my eye on. I like her writing style even though it took me a little time to get used to the third person omniscient point of view which I haven't really come across much before. But once I got in the flow I really enjoyed it and read through the whole series pretty quickly.

I'm very much looking forward to finding out what happens next in book 5 of The Order of The Black Swan and other future works of hers.

Collected Tales - Books 1-3 amazon.co.uk | amazon.com | iBooksUK | iBooksUS

Book 4 'Moonlight' amazon.co.uk | amazon.com | iBooksUK | iBooksUS



Post a Comment

Would love to hear what you think in the comments below. And don't forget if your a blogger to include your links so I can visit.


My Little World Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template